Other Criminal Matters

The Law Offfice of Mark Bakay is experienced in handling all types of criminal matters and any issue you may have with your license. Mark Bakay has handled cases from simple traffic tickets to 1st degree Felonies. This includes battery cases, DUI, Driving while your License is Suspended, accident cases, racing on the highway, Reckless driving,  drug charges such as Cannabis, cocaine, and other drugs, dealing with a lost license, and other Felony cases. No matter what the charge, it is important to talk to an attorney as soon as possible to learn what your legal rights are in that case and what you may face as punishment. Call today to set up an appointment for a free consultation with an experienced Central Florida Attorney who will fight aggresively for you.
 
SUSPENDED/ REVOKED  LICENSE
  Your License can be suspended or revoked for a number of reasons in the state of Florida. Many times this happens when you change insurance companies, renew your insurance policy late, fail to pay child support, a criminal drug conviction, an alcohol offens such as a .02 violation if you are under 21, DUI, and if you fail to pay a traffic ticket to name a few.

You can be charged with or without knowledge by the officer. This is normally determined by looking at your driving record and notice. Without notice is a civil citation(traffic ticket) and with knowledge is a criminal citation that can include jail time. If you are caught driving on a DUI suspention the likelyhood of jail time goes up as Judges and state attorneys take this very seriously. If you are convicted of three Driving while your license is suspended ( DWLS) in a five year period (DMV goes by your conviction date), they can be civil or criminal, you loose your license for 5 year.

At this point you receive a letter from the DMV that says you are now a habitual traffic offender (HTO) and you will loose you license for 5 years and will have to wait a full year(with no driving whatsoever, the DMV will check) before you are eligible to get a hard ship license. If you are caught driving as HTO you can be charged with a 3rd degree felony that has a max penalty of 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

If you receive a citation for DWLS or a letter from the DMV about you becoming an HTO, call today to talk to Mr. Bakay to discuss your options and how you might be able to get your license back. Mr. Bakay will fight aggressively to get your license back and has dealt with 100’s of people in the same situation you may find yourself in. Time is a factor in most cases so do not delay, call today for your free consultation.